DIY Knotted Headband

While on Pinterest the other day, I came across these stretchy knotted headbands and knew that I had to have one … or five. After my credit card info had been entered and I was about to place my order it hit me. I’m in college, I can’t afford to dish out 30 bucks for a few inches of stretchy fabric!

poor

I couldn’t bring myself to do it without at least trying to  make them myself. So I marched my little broke behind over to Jo-Ann Fabric and bought half a yard of 2 types of knit fabric (the stretchy stuff) for $9 each. And after a little playing around I ended up finding a simple way to create my own

12

I used:

Knit Fabric ( 23″ x 9″)

Sewing Machine*

Measuring Tape

White Thread

Scissors

*A sewing machine isn’t required if you don’t mind sewing by hand

4

The first thing to do is cut the fabric into one piece 23 inches long by 9 inches tall.

5

If your design has a”right” side and a “wrong” side fold it in half with the two “right” sides together and place pins 1/2 inch from the end. If your design looks the same on both sides then you don’t have to worry about which two sides to fold together.

6

The next step is to sew the long edges together making the seam 1/2 inch from the end (where your pins are).  If you are using a sewing machine, use a long zig zag stitch to allow the fabric to stretch. If you are sewing by hand just be sure to make each stitch long for the same reason.

7

Then you turn it right side out.

9

Fold the ends to a point and then sew them down.

10

Then cut an extra strip a couple inches long, fold the ends together as shown, and then tie the extra strip around the middle to create the bow! All that’s left to do is cut off the extra bit of the piece used to tie the bow (and use a needle and thread to sew it together for a little extra hold if you want) and then you’re done!

2

1

Like us on Facebook // Follow us on Twitter // Follow us on Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “DIY Knotted Headband

  1. This is a great post!!! I remember those poor college days (I have a recipe from my college years up on my blog today! It’s cheap! :)) These are adorable and thank you for the great idea! I’m totally going to make one! XO

    Simply Cydney

Leave a comment